ABOUT THE DEPOT
The Aslan Depot serves as a barrel-aging facility, 21+ taproom, and event space located in the historic Union Depot building in downtown Bellingham, WA. The tap list features a diverse range of artisan beer, cider, and wine. Aslan’s barrel-aged, blended, and unique brews are joined by guest taps of varied craft breweries. Originally serving as the public station for the interurban electric streetcars and motor buses, the Union Depot building is now reopened to the public as the Aslan Depot; a place of beer discovery, community, and conversation.
The historic Union Depot was built in 1916 by architect Frank C. Burns on Elk Street in downtown Bellingham. Elk Street was subsequently changed to State Street in 1926 to reflect the metamorphosis from frontier town to metropolitan center. The building was originally built as the station for the interurban electric streetcars and motor buses. Similar to today’s shuttle bus, the interurban “stage” service made connections to Whatcom County destinations such as Lynden and Ferndale. When the Union Depot opened in 1922, the interurban served 17 stage lines and completed 77 daily trips. Puget Sound Power & Light owned and operated the interurban, which ended passenger service in 1928 as buses ultimately proved more popular and cost efficient. Over the years many tenants have occupied the building in varying capacities. Aslan Brewing Co. took over the lease in January of 2017 and 11 months later transformed the space to a barrelhouse and taproom for the Bellingham public to enjoy for years to come.